SPMage09 Edition

The SPMage 2009 edition took place between January 2009 and September 2009, thanks to the disinterested financial support of the following institutions and private companies.

Researchers from more than 35 countries participated in the contest submitting more than 250 images with a higher scientific and artistic quality. More than 9000 Euros were handed over in prizes.

Finalist Images were selected in two phases. The first one was performed by a technical committee composed by 31 researchers, whereas the final phase was accomplished by an International Jury, composed of international prestigious scientists, science dissemination experts, journalists and artists, selected the five winning images of this edition, taking into account both their scientific and artistic qualities. In consequence, this second edition of the SPMAGE contest has identified some of the most beautiful and impressive images of the nanoworld.

The Organising Committee acknowledges all the participants, the members of the International Jury and the technical committee, and sponsors for supporting this initiative. The competition has been also supported by projects Nanoobjects-cm (S0505/MAT-0303) Madrid Regional Government, Spain, and Atomic Force Microscopy and Nanosystems (NAN2004-09183-C10) Spanish Government.

SPMage09 Images Awarded:

FIRST PRIZE (5000 €)

"Human malaria (Plasmodium malariae) infected red blood cells" Li Ang
National University of Singapore (Singapore)


THIRD PRIZE (1250 €)

"Atom Spangled Patchwork" Sander Otte
NIST-Center for Nanoscale Science and Technology (United States)
"Winter-time Nanofishing" Sviatlana Abetkovskaia
A.V. Luikov Heat and Mass Transfer Institute (Belarus)



"Venis of Coral" Francesco Mantegazza
Universita' degli studi di Milano-Bicocca (Italy)

"Looking for the summer ice" Mar Cardellach Redon
Centre d'Investigació en Nanociencia i Nanotecnologia (Spain)

SPMage09 International Jury:

  • José I. Pascual
  • Frei University of Berlin, Germany
  • Franz Giessibl
  • University of Regensburg, Germany
  • Rubén Pérez
  • Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain
  • P. Weiss
  • University Park, United States
  • José Rivas
  • Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory, Spain
  • Lola Gil
  • Universidad Complutense de Madrid , Spain
  • Malén Ruiz de Elvira
  • "El País" (Newspaper), Spain
  • Juan Jesús Aznar
  • Museo de Tecnica de l’Empordà, Spain
  • Jaime Pérez del Val
  • Área de Cultura Científica del CSIC, Spain
  • Juan Antonio Lleó
  • Asociación Nanoarte, Spain

    SPMage09 Technical Committee:

  • Adriana Gil
  • Nanotec, S.L., Spain
  • Alvaro Sao Paulo
  • CNM-CSIC, Spain
  • Amadeo Vázquez de Parga
  • UAM, Spain
  • Arantzazu Mascaraque
  • UCM, Spain
  • Carlos Briones Llorente
  • INTA, Spain
  • Carmen Munuera
  • MPG, Germany
  • José I. Arnaudas
  • Unizar, Spain
  • Carmen Ocal
  • ICMAB-CSIC, Spain
  • Celia Rogero
  • INTA, Spain
  • Cristina Gómez Navarro
  • UAM, Spain
  • Daniel Sánchez Portal
  • UPV-EHU, Spain
  • Felix Zámora
  • UAM, Spain
  • Fernando Moreno
  • UAM, Spain
  • Javier Méndez
  • UAB, Spain
  • José Miguel Martín
  • ICMM-CSIC, Spain
  • Montserrat Calleja
  • CNM-CSIC, Spain
  • Nicoleta Nicoara
  • UAM, Spain
  • Oscar Rodríguez
  • UCM, Spain
  • Pablo Pou
  • UAM, Spain
  • Pedro José de Pablo
  • UAM, Spain
  • Pietro Gambardella
  • UAB, Spain
  • Adrian Bachtold
  • CNM, Spain
  • Juan de la Figuera
  • UAM, Spain
  • Juan Jose Sáenz
  • UAM, Spain
  • Luis Vázquez
  • ICMM-CSIC, Spain
  • María Teresa Cuberes
  • UCLM, Spain
  • Miguel Ciria
  • Unizar, Spain
  • Mónica Luna
  • CNM-CSIC, Spain
  • Esther Barrena
  • MPG, Germany
  • Francesc Pérez Murano
  • CNM, Spain
  • Gustavo Ceballos
  • UAB, Spain
  • Iván Brihuega
  • UAM, Spain
  • Jordi Hernadez Borrell
  • UB, Spain
  • José Ángel Martín Gago
  • ICMM, Spain
  • José Gabriel Rodrigo
  • UAM, Spain
  • Roberto Otero
  • UAM, Spain

    International Scanning Probe Microscopy Image Prize | About SPMage Contest | Contact Us | © SPMage2021
    This website is optimized to 1024 x 768 screen resolution.
    This site has been developed by Fernando Hernández Cuadra