

Nominations are sought for the Early Career Scientist Prizes in Semiconductor Physics awarded by the IUPAP C8 Commission on Semiconductors. Two prizes are awarded biennially for outstanding contributions to semiconductor physics and its applications, made by early career scientists with a maximum of 8 years of research experience (excluding career interruptions) following the award of the PhD by Dec. 31, 2023. The prizes will be awarded during the 36th International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors to be held in Ottawa, Canada from July 28 to August 2, 2024. Each prize includes a commemorative IUPAP medal, 1000 Euros and a prestigious invited oral presentation during ICPS 2024. In past years we have received few submissions involving female scientists, we therefore strongly encourage female nominations.

Nomination procedure (also found at: https://www.iupap.org)

Nominees for the Early Career Scientist Prizes must be nominated by a senior member of the research community. Self-nominations are not accepted. A nomination for the prizes must contain the following.

- A cover letter of not more than 1000 words by the nominator evaluating the nominee's contributions to semiconductor physics and identifying the specific work to be recognized (up to 4 publications).
- A citation for the prize (not more than 25 words).
- A short CV of the nominee (not more than 3 pages).
- A list of publications.
- Two additional letters of endorsement of the nomination, at least one of which is not from a former supervisor of the nominee.

The nomination must be prepared in English and combined into a single consolidated PDF file, which is to be sent as an email attachment to the IUPAP-C8 Commission secretary at: gplatero@icmm.csic.es, with a copy to the Commission Chair at: ydkim@khu.ac.kr.

The deadline for submissions of nominations is extended to February 11, 2024.

Selection procedure

The winners of the competition will be selected by the members of the IUPAP C8 Commission.

Previous Winners

2022 Dmitri K. Efetov & Deep Jariwala 2020 Cheng Gong & Michael Saliba

2018 Heejun Yang & Jean-Christophe Blancon 2016 Kimberly Dick Thelander & Samuel Stranks

2014 Xiaodong Xu & Rahul Nair 2012 Alberto Amo & Young Woo Son

2010 Pablo Jarillo-Herrero & Yuanbo Zhang 2008 Lieven Vandersypen